h1

Lesson in Aesthetics

October 5, 2013
Blue House

MLS/Web ID is 3050993

I am neutral on Steve Jobs, mostly because I have never looked very closely at him or his work.  Recently, driven by my need to absorb anything to do with “Pop” culture,  I read something that piqued my interest.  It seems the Steve Jobs thought that aesthetics could be taught, implying that there exists some standard of aesthetic correctness, and almost always culminating in the philosophical dichotomy between the absolute and relative.  Beauty, some say, is subjective and in the “eye of the beholder;” not, others say, universal and defined only by elites.  Perhaps the opposition has become more important than the truth, and judging by the house in the photo;  the truth is, whoever designed this remodel would have been well served by a few of those lessons.

I guess the camp in which I reside is revealed.  Clearly there was a lot of work put into the exterior refinishing of this house, but the designer treated the stone like a set of matching accessories added to some fashion layout in a misguided effort to make a statement.  The result is utterly contrived, removing all hope of visual unity and curb appeal.  Architects, who might have supplied and improvement here, are not so much elites as they are eternal students.

Leave a comment