h1

Architecture: The Beauty of Commonality

June 12, 2014

I have had this image in my drafts since way back in 2012.  I keep trying to understand what language it speaks, like catching a non verbal dialect.  It appeared in a larger article on  India Art n Design  entitled Ethnic Zest.  If you follow the link and take a look at the article you will see the ethnic connection in the other images that are presented there, but this one is an exception.  I don’t think that there is anything particularly ethnic about the architecture, although the interior follows the Eastern tendency to put a table in the middle of the room and then arrange the furniture symmetrically about it.  Recently I  took another look.   Finally – understandable not having been raised in India –  I realized that the place is noteworthy because it is real.  Virtually every Indian residence that I have visited, and there have been quite a few, looks something like this one.  I will spare the reader a descriptive list of common elements.  If you are interested drop me a note and I will point them out.  Suffice it to say that there is beauty in commonality that is not taught, designed or planned.  It is  simply done, in this case by an architect.

Save

Leave a Reply

